31. A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

51l6elkiidl

I know, I know, what about my immediate TBR?! Come on L-B, get your act together, finish the two books you’ve already started! But I couldn’t’ help myself guys, I grabbed this off the library shelf and finished it in less than 22 hours.
Not quite as good as the first one, but I think I just wanted to carry on with the characters from the first book, but I did end up getting very deeply involved with these new characters too. Again, the plot wasn’t vast but enough happened to give the characters development.

I loved that Chambers decided to visit Pepper’s past and have this new and old interaction of the AI’s of past and present Pepper giving you all the reasons why she’d risk breaking the law in such an extreme way just for a piece of software.
I loved that Tak changed genders every few pages and the pronouns changed with xem.

I don’t know if I’ve got such a soft spot for these books because of these massive inclusiveness of gender identities but I do think they’re worth a read.

Leave a comment