Book Three completed!

The Girl with All the Gifts by M R Carey

thegirlwithallthefgifts.jpg

I’m putting this one under my ‘book with a main character who is a different ethnicity than you’ box.

This book blew my mind, it took me two days to read, and the ending was absolutely wonderful, I can’t get over it. If you love your Hollywood endings this one isn’t for you,
but I think it was perfect.

Obviously Melanie is the ‘main’ character in this book, but Miss Justineau is definitely a close second, so she’s my different ethnicity character. She’s got some wonderful descriptions of her beautiful dark skin and curly hair, which made me sad when I saw the adaptation for this book had turned her into a white woman. I don’t think that swapping Melanie to a light skinned black girl even vaguely makes up for this. I don’t think I’ll be watching the film anytime soon.

The book itself was completely gripping, I would fully recommend this book to anyone wanting to read.

Leave a Reply

